November 29, 2013

  • THANKSGIVING DAY

    It was a good day.

    Went to the club for a wonderful brunch with Saadia and Dave and the boys. Sayeed and Shelley with their boys were in her home up in Chicago suburbs. The food was excellent, and we were in a special area of the club without too much of a crowd. Some of you have probably seen the picture below on the facebook which Saadia has posted.

    THANKSGIVING LUNCHEON AT QCC

    Saadia had asked us to come to her home in the afternoon, to share some snacks. She had so many different types of appetizers and other finger foods, and I had made some myself and taken a large tray over to her place. So from about four in the afternoon till almost seven in the evening we tried to watch a movie, played scrabble, chatted, and ate snacks. It was such a lovely relaxed afternoon.

    IMG_3203

    IMG_3205

    IMG_3206

    Dave looks better, but I can see that he still has some pain in the back. Just in the way he lowers himself into the chair and gets out of it, I know that the back is still bothering him. I pray that soon his pain is completely gone. Other than that, he is doing better overall.

    The madness of the shopping season has started. Saadia and I never go out on the Friday after Thanksgiving to do any kind of shopping. But Noah wants to see what it really is like----- the crowd, the facial expressions and the frenzy of the shoppers. Saadia refused to take him. So guess who offered to do the honor! Yup! I told him I would take him to our mall sometime during the day. I hope it will be a good lesson to him to not venture out on the future Black Fridays.

    Hope all of you had a very good Thanksgiving Day.

Comments (21)

  • Still very glad to hear that Dave is doing well.

    And black Friday. Good luck with that. There's not a force on earth that could get me out of this house tomorrow.

    • Every day that Dave doesn't take a pain pill, is a good day. You are right. Until now, I never left the house on Black Friday except to go to work. But when grand children want the moon, a grandmamma tries her best to get it for him. It so happened that we didn't shop at all. He only wanted to know what the traffic is like and see the expressions on the faces of people.

  • glad he is doing better and yes, I know you can notice the pain being in the medical field as you are.
    That is lots of food and glad ya'all could all be together for the holidays.

  • It was a festive day, Zakiah and I am glad to see Dave in better shape .
    Thanksgiving is not celebrated in France ( different history )
    Love
    Michel

    • Yes I know! I don't believe TG is celebrated anywhere else other than US and Canada. I only pray that his back ache is gone completely.
      Love,
      Zakiah.

  • The food looks so good! I'm sure it was. Glad you had a fun and good food kind of day.

  • What a wonderful day! The smiles around the table are all the commentary needed! I hope you are safe as you head to the mall - the drivers are all crazy.

    • Only Noah and I drove around. We did no shopping at all. I went along with him to see the faces of the shoppers, and enjoy how desperate their frenzied looks were. Poor people.

  • It looks like the Ali family had another fabulous Thanksgiving. I agree with you about Black Friday. In fact, short of stopping at a mall in Brea, CA, tomorrow, to meet up with a couple of Xangans, I am steering clear of the shopping scene this weekend. The Brea stop is only to have dinner with these friends.

    • we had a good TG. I wonder who the xangans were whom you met in Brea. I am sure they were happy to meet you.

  • The food at the brunch couldn't have been better than what I see on your table! Pigs in blankets--is that a traditional Indian dish? LOL
    Good luck with the shopping! I refuse to go anywhere near retail today, so we will just watch football and some movies.

    • well, pigs in the blanket is such an easy snack and Noah loves it. The brunch at the club was good, but like Dave sais, he only likes the Hickory smoked Honey glazed turkey that I get from Kansas. We didn't even try any of the turkey at the club, but filled our plates with a lot of other good food. I wish the girl had taken the photo after we had got our food.
      We just went for a ride. DID NOT SHOP! No was I going to stand in line at the register.

  • I loved to see the family together enjoying time around the table. It was good to see Dave and Saadia and the boys ... and to have the faces to put with my prayers. I'm so glad that Dave is improving; I'll pray about the back pain.
    I have never gone out on "Black Friday" ... in fact, I didn't even know about such a thing until several years ago. I'm not a big shopper, and I especially avoid busier times!
    The food that you and Saadia fixed for your get together looks wonderful!

    • Well, Noah and I drove around, just to let him get a taste of the mad traffic. We did get into the Mall, but we didn't buy anything. It was just fun watching the frenzy and the anxiety on the faces of the shoppers. I would appreciate prayers for his back ache. Thank you.

  • looks yummy and sounds like fun.

  • If I was at your place, I would be glued to the table.

    I hope and pray Dave will continue to get better. Take care.

    • Thanks Mattie! We are all praying for the same and hoping for a miracle. I wish you could come to my place some day, I won't allow you to get off the dining table!!

  • I'm so glad to see you had a happy Thanksgiving! I continue to pray for all of you, but especially Dave!
    (((HUGS))) :-)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment