August 25, 2015

  • The celebration/trip continues.

    Once I got into the city, I pretended that I was doing well. Smiled a lot, and hugged a lot. I did tell a few people that I didn't feel too good, but I was otherwise okay. The entrance to the house was decked with flowers, all the way from the drive way.

    IMG_5107

    IMG_5105

    The above picture is of my nephew,, his wife Sadiya and their daughter Saniya,the bride to be,.

    The tables of food were loaded with the best cuisine. I looked at each and every dish with longing. But knew I couldn't touch them. I had (most of the time) yogurt, and soft rice and may be a piece of kebab. arrrgh! I am telling you it was a torture to be there and not enjoy all the food. But, such is life I suppose.

    The day I reached, there was a henna event for family members.  The formal ceremony would come the following day. I do not consider myself young or vibrant to want to get my hands painted with henna. When I was young, I did enjoy it; and therefore refused to have the ladies apply the mixture to my palms. But Sadiya (my nephew's wife) and all the other relatives forced me down and I got some design done. It was actually fun. I had never had any thing as intricate and pretty ever before. The three ladies came from a town called Bangalore, about 150 miles away, just to do this for the bride's family. It was like an assembly line. One would draw the outline, and the other ladies did the finishing touches by filling in. Looks like a tattoo, doesn't it? Except the color is deep red, and is gone in about a week. I can hardly see the design on my palms now.

    IMG_5103

    IMG_5104

    The following day the entire bridal party moved to a hotel called the ITC Grand Chola. Chola was a dynasty of King Asoka in the fifteenth or sixteenth century I think. The hotel was immense. It is considered to be the best hotel in India, and probably the grandest around the world. I know, the Ritz Carltons of this country couldn't hold a candle to its magnificence. When I walked out of the hotel to take some pictures, the humidity was so intense that the lens of my camera fogged up. But I think it is a cool photo anyway.

    IMG_5150

    IMG_5153

     

    IMG_5152

    IMG_5151

    IMG_5155

    IMG_5154

    The foyer had the most beautiful marble entrance I have seen.

    IMG_5157

    That night there was a function of the Henna ceremony. My nephew had reserved 150 rooms for all the guests. A huge hall was decked with jasmine garlands. In the center was the station where professional henna ladies would apply the color to the guests. The bride would have her hands and feet done on a stage near by.

    IMG_5124

    Elsewhere in the same hall, there were hundred upon hundreds of bangles and leis of jasmine for the guests to take and wear them. The pavilion had many small stages where the guests would sit down to have their hands painted.IMG_5127

    IMG_5128

    Some of you know how much I crave, the fragrance of jasmines. I was in heaven with these blooms all around me. Every thing was coming up jasmines. The drapes of the center pavilion were thick strands of jasmine. I had to take a picture of myself with the sisters of the bride, just so I can remember the beauty of the evening.

    IMG_5123

    IMG_5131

    Ladies waiting to show off their talent.IMG_5138

     

     

    IMG_5134

    Each table had this enormous centerpiece of pink jasmines. I think I must have thought I was in heaven.

    IMG_5133

    And finally here is my grand niece, getting her hands and arms and feet done up.

    IMG_5146

    It was a memorable evening.  I shall stop here tonight, and post more photos, perhaps tomorrow night. Hope you have enjoyed these pictures.

    I am posting the same on my WordPress blog. Just so you know.

     

     

     

     

     

Comments (14)

  • The regality of the hotel and the scent of jasmine must have more than made up for the push-pull regimen of the wedding. It must have been exhausting, but what we do for love, so often is.

    • You are so right. I went there just out of love for my nephew and his family. The occasion was spectacular, and I am glad I was part of it.

  • I am awe of where you were.Everything is so beautiful. I have never seen that kind of art work on hands and arms. It looks great with so much detail Everyone looks so nice. Sorry you were not feeling 100% good.

    • Thank you for coming over and looking at the pictures Frank. I am glad you liked them. I am feeling better now.

  • Marvelous and wonderful and lavish and all superlatives fail at describing the photos!! The bride is beautiful and the whole affair is stunning! I'm so glad you had a chance to visit even if you had to cut your visit short.

    • I knew you would like the pictures. I have so many more, and I am going to post them one day at a time. I am glad I was able to see such a regal wedding.

  • I really love your post! Everything is so beautiful. I really love your henna design! And I hope you are having a great time.

    • Thank you Floriana. I am glad you had time to check up on this. I am back State side now. had to cut the trip short due to ileus and colitis. But I was able to attend the wedding.

  • The lobby! Wow ~

    So interesting and lavish ~ wish I could smell the flowers ~

  • Wow, beautiful places and beautiful people! :)

  • Thanks for sharing all this bbbeauty with me/us. Your pictures are wonderful!!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment