August 28, 2015

  • The Thanksgiving night.

    The night before the wedding was the night of thanksgiving. Again a huge function. There were hundreds of friends and relatives. The adjacent hall had tables set up for dinner. The cuisine was amazing, I think. I didn't get to eat much, I had lost my appetite by now, and was surviving on yogurt and rice and some soup. I want to cry at the thought of missing all that food. There were hundreds of people falling all over the food, and there I was fondling my angry stomach!

    IMG_5185

    There was entertainment that was beyond my imagination. A few dancers were bought from Dubai, who danced like the whiling dervishes of Turkey. It was mesmerizing. Then they donned some electrical costumes and danced, and the whorls and the way they were spinning was spectacular. It really was electrifying. Then there was fireworks. Totally out of this world.

    IMG_5175

    IMG_5177

    Saniya looked so beautiful in the typical red and gold of the occasion. Her jewelry was of regal and princely magnitude. Every day, was a day of diamonds, rubies, and emeralds, the size of which I had not seen before. Well may be I had, but didn't remember. Doesn't she look so beautiful? Why the downcast eyes? Because Muslim brides in India and Pakistan do not flaunt their looks, and do not show off their clothes or expose any part of their body like the brides in the west.

    IMG_5173

    The next day was the wedding, and I shall have more, many more pictures for all of you. Hope you are not bored by this.

     

Comments (12)

  • Cropped properly, the last shot is farmable -- beautiful!

    • I hadn't thought of that Janet. What a great idea. I will have to do that, and send it to my nephew as a gift. Thank you for that suggestion.

  • Bored? Of course not! My daughter in law was lucky enough to attend a wedding in India. I'm going to show her some of your pictures when she comes on Sunday.

    • I hope your DIL will also like these pictures. I had a good time there, despite the set back with my health.

  • She is beautiful! I know that the photographs don't really capture the dancers! I wish you had had a video of that performance!!

    • I wanted to video tape the dance, but that was a particularly hard night for me Val. I didn't even stay back for much of the fireworks. All I wanted to do was go back to the room and sleep.

  • I am sure she is also pondering her many new responsibilities. Yes, marriage is a serious institution, requiring maturity.
    I am so sorry you were unable to enjoy the incredible array of foods. The entire event must have been the thrill of a lifetime!

    • I am not sure. She is probably thinking about the three week honey moon in the Greek Islands, the Italian Riviera and the French Riviera. You are right, the entire week was a thrill of a life time indeed.

  • I love the way they do things===so classy. She is a beautiful bride!

  • Bored? NOT!!! Thank you for sharing such beautiful pictures, telling those of us who don't know, all about the traditions.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment