January 13, 2016

  • A Birthday.

    IMG_0135

    Yesterday was my birthday. It was one of the best birthdays I have had. Started the computer in the morning and I saw the Google emblem with the cakes and stuff. So I thought to myself, 'oh wow, some one important has a birthday on the same day!" later on the day, out of curiosity, I checked on the image, and I about fell off my chair that it was for me! How cool is that!!

     

    IMG_0137

    I had lunch at the Italian restaurant with my retired colleagues, and all day I received calls from all over the world. I had such a good day. In the evening Sayeed had asked us to go over to his home for dinner. The whole family was there. Dave and Saadia brought me red roses. Don't they look gorgeous? And Sayeed and Shelley got an orchid plant for me. I love the orchids that I have and am so happy to add to my collection. Sayeed also gave me a pair of walking shoes, which I desperately needed.

     

    IMG_0138

    Here are the shoes. Fit me perfect.

     

    IMG_0139

    Sayeed is such a gourmet cook. He made these awesome steaks on cast iron skillet and baked them in the oven. The marinade and the whole steak was incredibly tender and absolutely to die for. He also had breasts of chicken and parmesan crusted tilapia. Shelley hade made a potato casserole that was out of this world. I have to get the recipe for it. The salad of cherry tomatoes with mozzarella cheese was such a great compliment to the meal along with French bread. It was the best meal on a best Birthday.
    My children always asked me, "what do you want for your birthday?" I really didn't want anything. But last night, being with them, listening to their talk, laughing with them, feeling the heartfelt happiness, that's what I had always wanted. it was such a blessed evening. I cannot thank Sayeed and Shelley enough for making for me the perfect day of my aging years.

     

    IMG_0143

    IMG_0145

    20160111_181811_004

    IMG_0146

    The face book was lit up with hundreds of wishes. They are spilling over into today. I am so blessed,  and am so grateful to God for my beautiful family always.

Comments (16)

  • All looks like the makings of a most lovely day. may you enjoy many more.

  • Wow! Wow! And Wow! That is so very cool that Google celebrated your birthday - You must be more famous than I imagined!!! Everything sounds (and looks) perfect. The walking shoes are beautiful (that is the same pair that one of my coworkers bought for work - she said they are like walking on air). A very HAPPY(belated)BIRTHDAY to YOU!

    • It was a total shock to me Val. I didn't bother to click on it in the morning, thinking that someone else was celebrating the day like me. Later in the day when I clicked to see which historical person had the same birthday, I about fell off my chair. It was just too darling. Thank you for your kind wishes.

  • The food looks wonderful, the roses are beautiful, and the shoes are cool. I am glad you enjoyed your birthday so much. Blessings.

    • The flowers continue to stay healthy. Materiel things don't mean much, but the love of the family is just such a balm.

  • Congratulations and happy birthday. French bread takes a lot of skill, very impressive.

    • Thank you John. I LOVE French bread. I could eat a whole loaf (kind of), and not feel guilty.

  • Love the Google surprise! Looks like you had a wonderful birthday. Blessings from me too!

  • Happy Birthday Dr. Zakiah!!! I love birthdays now and hope to have one this year.

    Your family knows how to celebrate and eat well. You have such a loving family. You are super duper blessed.

    Blessings

    Frank

  • Happy, happy Birthday!!!

  • Happy happy Birthday Zakiah!I am sorry I am late! My birthday was Jan 15 and I am so happy to know that you were born in January like me! it's an honor!

    • Oh thank you Floriana, I wish you the same. You are too kind to me. Hope you are doing well.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment