July 27, 2017

  • Betrayal

    You and I were one and the same.
    I felt your beats, as you smiled at my breath
    you wanted me to feel life, and
    I played every game possible.

    Respect, love and compassion
    you filled in every pore of my being.
    You promised me that you would
    hold my hand, and let me reach giddy heights

    A month ago, you betrayed me.
    You let me fall, lose my dignity
    not caring that I did all you’d asked me to do;
    I had walked with you for miles

    Played tennis and golf, and sweated
    while you hammered the drums in my chest
    encouraging me, cheering me on
    until last month.

    You clammed up!
    Locked one of the doors and blocked
    my entrance into your private chambers.
    You gave me a heart attack……literally!

    Such betrayal from a true and trusted soul mate!!

    ZSA.

    July 26, 2017 Written after my heart attack

Comments (7)

  • I love the poem, but hate the event that triggered it, and how and when it happened.

  • Yes, love the poem. Heart problems are scary. I'm glad you survived and are doing well. Blessings.

  • Love the poem ... nobody has looked at a heart attack this way!

  • @mcbery: thanks Miriam. You know, I was not at all scared. Just wanted to come back home to my children. That's all.

  • @bangalorebeauty: Thank you Manu. I thought of this idea, when I got the result of my Cardiac enzyme and how high it was! Was finally able to write it a couple of days ago.

  • I believe this is the first poem I have ever read like this, of a person to their heart, not for love matters, but as aftermath of a heart attack. Very well done.

    We are thankful you survived it to be able to continue to write and experience life here on Earth.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *