September 3, 2017

  • Eid-- The Holiday.

    Eid—The Holiday.

    Posted on September 3, 2017 by Zakiah

    Yesterday the Muslims of the world celebrated the Eid al Adha, The Holiday of the Sacrifice, commemorating the sacrifice of Prophet Abraham’s obedient response to God’s order of sacrificing his son. This sacrificial agreement by the prophet of course is rewarded by finding a slain lamb instead of his son. The Muslims all over the world celebrate this event by offering a similar sacrifice of a lamb/sheep/camel or cow.

    This event coincides with the pilgrimage called Hajj. Several million Muslims gather in Mecca in Saudi Arabia to perform this once in a life time requisite of Islam. Those who have already done The Hajj, or have not gone on the pilgrimage, celebrate the day with prayers at the mosques and getting together with other Muslims and friends and sharing meals.

    Yesterday everyone got together here in our home. Usually I have a huge spread with different American and Indian dishes. Due to the set back of my health, the kids didn’t want me to do anything at all. I decided that instead of Indian food, I would get beef tenderloin and bake it, and told the kids to bring a dish to go along with that. However, M’s widowed sister and his brother who live in St. Louis came over the day before; she had brought several Indian dishes along with her.

    I got a six pound tenderloin and slow baked it in the oven. Saadia brought a fantastic salad with avocados, almonds, cucumbers, and mixed greens and she made a wonderful light dressing of balsamic vinaigrette. Shelley brought a pasta with pesto sauce, and a most delicious potato casserole. There were cakes and brownies and I had made a typical Indian dessert of vermicelli in cream with slivered almonds.

    My sister in law’s son and his wife drove up in the morning in their Lotus car. That was an eye candy to behold! Wish I had taken a picture. In all, I had about 14 or 15 people. We just spread out all over the house and deck, with our plates, and had a wonderful time.

    In other news, I am doing better with health. The cardiac rehab is going good, and today I even took a walk outside to Saadia’s home… two blocks. Got a glass of cold water there, and returned home. Felt good.

    I took three pictures and saved them to my documents. I am not able to bring them out so I can post them here. Sorry about that.

Comments (5)

  • I'm so glad you are feeling better. Glad your kids wouldn't let you do all the meal. It sounds like you had plenty of good food. It's always wonderful to gather with family and friends and enjoy good food and fellowship. We plan to do the same next weekend to celebrate my grand-daughter's wedding. (It's about time. She's been with the same man for 7 years and they have 2 adorable little girls.)

    • Yes Gracia, having children close by is such a blessing. They are always around to help out.

  • Yes, I am glad you are feeling better too. I have children close by too and grandchildren. That is a blessing. May God speed your recovery and bless you.

  • Relieved you're feeling better. (And I think we'll be OK in Vero Beach with respect to Hurricane Irma. We're well-prepared and optimistic.)

  • So glad you are feeling better!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment