December 3, 2013

  • CLASS ACT

     

    All of us know how we all are about our homes and where we build them and how far we are from our neighbors etc. We tend to guard our residences and become so possessive about them. Some of us, have tilted up noseS and do not want anyone living near us. Some of us don’t mind a couple or three homes in our area. And then there are those of us, who don’t mind living alongside many others, say like in an apartment complex or the Projects.

    Have you ever wondered about animals and birds? Have you noticed how they mark their territories? I am sure you have.

    How about birds? Have you noticed the nests in the trees? Especially now when they are so exposed and there are no leaves on the branches. I think the birds also have similar class system. I think they are just as arrogant as we are when it comes to personal properties.

    Case in point~~

    I see a huge tree with just a single nest! One SINGLE NEST! What! No one else can build a nest in that tree? I wonder if that bird thinks that it belongs to the Czar family and cannot and will not tolerate other birds residing on their tree. Just look, one nest. One solitary upturned snooty nest! But I have to also remember that just like great men who build their homes in some lofty solitude, there may be some birds like eagles and owls who cannot stand others too close to them.  I wonder if these birds go to their own nests and think it is their own haven, and a place to heal.

    IMG_3193

    The picture below shows a robin's nest in the star magnolia tree in front of my study. Can you imagine, all that space, and just one single nest!

    IMG_3196

    I also see trees with just two or three nests, far apart on the same tree. These birds are probably like most of us, who don’t mind some neighbors, but don’t want to be too crowded. They are probably the "middle income" average homes/nests of the winged friends.

    IMG_3197

    IMG_3198

    The two pictures below show many nests. These trees are in my neighbor's yard, one across from us and the other to the side of our home. Each of them has six or seven or more nests.

    IMG_3199

    IMG_3200

    And of course there are nests that are numerous on the same tree; these are the ones who live in the Projects!

     

    I think all this exclusivity of building the nests away from the others,  is simply for the birds!!!

    What do you think?

    ANYWAY, I went to pick Noah up from school last week, and I saw this gorgeous tree. It was naked and empty, but, it had its long bean-like thingies hanging from the branches and twigs, and it just looked so regal and so wise and so East-like. It was powerful and mesmerized me. But then, all trees do that to me. I could never tire of looking at a tree, with or without nests.

    IMG_3191

    IMG_3192

    Thank you for reading this, and again thanks for your continued prayers for Dave.

     

Comments (35)

  • I love this post, Zakiah! I love trees ~ their majesty and beauty -- and now, to learn some lessons from the nests that they give of their branches for shelter.
    Yes, continued prayers for Dave.
    Love ~ Carolyn

    • Thank you Joyce. I could never pass a tree without admiring it. I am so happy you liked it. Thank you for the prayers. Love.

  • I LOVE this post! My thought would be probably different species of birds build differently, and probably more for raising babies than for healing. These are wonderful observations, and I truly love the idea of 'middle income, average' birds' nests!

    • Hi Janet, thank you. I am so happy you liked my post. I thought it would be different.
      Hope you had a very good time with friends and relatives in Santa Barbara and a wonderful Thanksgiving feast.

  • This can ask numerous analysis .
    Yes the notion of territory esists for the animals
    and alos the various degres between a social life and individualism
    The quantity of food available is also determining .
    Interesting ethological entry,Zakiah.
    love
    mIchel

    • Thank you Michel. I thought the concept of the nests in varying degrees of occupation was an interesting one, and so posted it, hoping that some people will chuckle at it. But I have learned so much already from my readers. I am glad I posted it.

  • True that some birds are more social than others and thus more willing to have close neighbors... But also of note - not all the nests belong to birds. The really big ones made mostly of leaves belong to squirrels! And squirrels are very territorial. They will tolerate birds but not other squirrels. We can often see ourselves in the actions of the animals. I tend to think of the closely gathered nests as a gated closed community - birds of a feather flock together.

  • Trees are beautiful,with or without leaves, and birds are so interesting. I'll have to ponder on this post for awhile. Remembering Dave, and all of you.

    • I love trees. This post was not supposed to be a heavy one. I thought it was kind of funny to see nests in the trees at this time and fine the various numbers sort of amusing. Don't waste too much time thinking about them though.

  • tell you how and why we make our little nest in our own home.

  • Many times, I have observed birds, and small mammals-like prairie dogs, squabble over territory. It can get pretty vicious. I trend towards being glad to see most of my neighbours. Those who are obstreperous,no, but the rest- why not?

    • I am enjoying the discussion my post has brought about. The analogy was meant to create a few chuckles. So many have taken it to heart. Thank you.

  • I love the way you think! This post delighted me!!!

  • Only you would be so observant .... hahaha.

    I live in a condo so I'm in a big tree with many nests!

    • Hope that was a compliment. :) I love trees and leaves and birds. When my mind goes vacant, I start seeing things and stuffing the images in my empty cranium.

  • Those snooty birds! They are the one percenters of the avian set!
    When I think about it, though, several of the birds who nest around our house, don't seem to like to have their own species as neighbors. Cardinals, wrens, mockingbirds...I usually just see one family at a time (not that I can really tell them apart, but you know what I mean). On the other hand, I see lots of robins and chickadees together. I guess you're right, they are just like people when it comes to housing!

    • I see a lot of robins, cardinals and blue jays in my yard. I used to get a lot of finches a few years back, but they have stayed away these past couple of years. I also get a lot of humming birds in summer.
      It seems you haven't received the book yet. I was afraid of that. I wish I had thought ahead and sent it by priority mail. I will check with the post office tomorrow. I have the bill here, and it says " Scheduled Delivery Day: Mon 12/02/13.

  • Our sycamore trees are full of mistletoe at this time of year -- it often looks like nests in the deciduous trees after they lose their leaves!

  • You have a Star Magnolia! We have one and I love it. Hope you are doing well. Have you had that doctor's appt. yet? Any results?

    • I think one of the best blooms I have seen, are those of the Star Magnolias. It's too bad that they last only a short time. But oh glorious they look! Thank you for your caring words Bill, I am doing well. I have an appointment for a CT Scan Angiogram on Thursday next week. Will let you know the results when I get them. Thank you again.

  • I love this post! It made me smile! Your photos are beautiful! I love trees...and I love watching birds...they bring me joy and have taught me so much about life!
    How are YOU feeling?! Any update on your health?!
    I'm still praying for all of you!
    (((HUGS)))

    • Thank you Carolyn. I hope you had a great Thanksgiving. Did your children join you? I think we will have our Thanksgiving (in our home) this Saturday now that Shelley and Sayeed are back from her home in Chicago. I am glad you liked my post. Thank you for your prayers.

  • No...sadly my kids couldn't come home for Thanksgiving this year. But they all called to talk, so that was nice! :-) And I had other family to enjoy the day with. :-)
    Enjoy your time with Shelley and Sayeed this weekend!
    HUGS!!! :-)

    • I am glad your children called and talked to you on TG day. I will have our TG dinner this Saturday. I hope my dishes come out good.

  • I love trees too. I think we had a bad cat going around knocking nests out of the trees this year. :-( We even had a crane come up and eat some of our baby ducks! I never thought they would do that but looked it up, and sure enough. Grrrrr! Probably easier than fishing! Poor little birds. Nature's way is rough at the bottom of the food chain. Having good neighbors is a blessing!

    • How sad that the baby ducks got swallowed by the crane. I had never heard of that either. I love seeing your pictures Miriam.

  • I enjoy looking at tree most of our trees have so much storm damage one half of my big tree hit the ground the other day what a mess

  • That first picture looks like a squirrels nest... I see them alot where I live and always one to a tree... and no, no bird would ever build a nest in a tree where there are squirrels. lol
    Hope you are doing well.
    Blessings,
    Lynn

  • Fun post. I love trees too. :-)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment