July 12, 2015

  • When You Walked Away

    IMG_4997

     

     When you walked away, nothing else happened.
    The sky didn’t fall, the mountains didn’t crumble
    the world didn’t stop existing and,
    I did not die.

    When you walked away, I stayed silent
    my respect for my heart reduced, my reliance
    on that organ in my chest, faded
    and I felt betrayed. 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  n in the past, I could trace your footsteps
    step by step, on the surface of that same heart.
    I knew that they had left footprints there.
    They are gone now.

    I noticed that my heart had betrayed me
    it had washed itself clean of your footprints
    when you walked away, nothing else happened
    except that my faith in my heart was gone.

    It had betrayed me!

    ZSA July 2015

     

Comments (9)

  • It so easy for this to happen. My mind came to the heart's rescue, in the strange days of adjustment to being alone.

  • I am doing two comments---here and for one you posted on my site that will not show up. lol

    Love this sad poem. Betrayal causes a kind of death. We move on, but the affect lingers.

    #2. I do drink protein drinks. Actually, I am alone this week. My wife is assisting our daughter in finding a replacement A/C unit for her condo. I am OK, and keep track of my oxygen percentages. I deal with fatigue all of the time--some days are worse than others. I am typing this from Starbucks and feel quite refreshed. lol

    I appreciate your concern and suggestions. I think the small heath issues are slowing escalating. Sounds like old age. lol

    Have a great weekend.

  • Such a sad poem, Zakiah -- your heart took quite a blow, and I'm sorry you took that as betrayal. I'm glad the world didn't stop existing and you did not die -- love and hugs!

  • You have written a poem that goes straight to the core! Wonderful!

  • @slmret: So sorry that you thought that this poem was personal Janet. I had posted the picture of the Robin on facebook, and Tamy, (wild woman of the west), commented that the words that robin would be thinking, would touch the soul, or something to that effect. So I sat down and wrote this poem.
    Nothing personal about this poem. Most of my poems seem like they could be, but they are not. Love and hugs to you too.

  • It's still a very sad poem, and personal or not, very touching.

  • That's beautiful but a piece of my heart gets torn away too! :(

  • That is a beautiful poem!! I didn't think it was personal but knew it could be for someone. It touched me.

  • And speaking of disillusionment, you have reminded me of my most recent post. In record short time, I might add. Your poem is extremely moving. It's also reminiscent of the ironical lyrics of an old song sung by The Four Lads: "I don't want your arms around me, no not much!" Not much, meaning, much.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment