July 20, 2015

  • Many Thanks

    Very grateful to all of you who have come and offered words of comfort and care about the sudden storms that we've had. If only it would stop raining for a full week or two. I think the ground needs to become drier and not have as much moisture as it does now. We had more storms last night and the thunder kept us awake. I am sure all Quincyans were hoping and praying that they didn't lose power again! More storms are called for tonight and tomorrow. Those rains, they just keep on coming! Wish they would go to California or Washington where they are needed!

    Ciao.

Comments (12)

  • As it happens, California is having its second consecutive day of rain. So, while I wish Illinois a respite from the wet, your wish for this part of the country is being realized.
    Glad you are all safe!

  • As Gary said, we've had two afternoons of rain -- slow, soaking rain, which is what we need most. We're in the path of the backwash from Hurricane Delores, which is breaking up off the Baja CA coast. They are also beginning to watch another tropical storm, so this may not be the last. Very unusual to see this much rain in July, particularly after 1-1/2 years without! I do hope that nature has dropped her rain here and you won't have more for a few days!

  • Praying the rain will subside for you and continue for California. Stay safe.

  • The St. Joseph River is starting to reach flood stage. On Sunday I was shocked to see it so high and I immediately thought of you and the mighty Mississippi. I hope the rains don't cause the river to overflow its banks!!

  • So many storms this year!!

  • @RighteousBruin: Yes, I heard that on the news too. I am glad that you have got some rain now.

  • @slmret: :) Thank you for that wish Janet. We haven't had any rain since Monday. Even though at times the clouds look somewhat dark. The days have not been too bad either. I actually was able to get three sets of tennis in last night.
    I am so happy that you are having some rain. That should keep the fires away too. I hope you get more rains this month--unusual or not, the country knows you need it.

  • @cjc2: Seems like your prayers are working Char!

  • @murisopsis: The rain has caused the River Mississippi to over flow its banks in some of the low lying areas. Hannibal MO (across the river from Quincy), had to put up their walls again, the third time this year. The Tom Sawyer days were totally washed out this year. Many smaller rivers are very high, Val. Some of the embankments are getting eroded. Heaven help one and all.

  • @fwren: I know!

  • Oh my! I missed this. We had a few trees fall around our area too. One fell across our lane! Never saw so much rain in a summer. Had to wonder what it would be like if it was snow! Glad you are OK.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment